can you carry a pistol on a wma during bow season

Quail man

Thread starter #1
headed bear hunting at swallow creek next week, and was wondering if you could carry a pistol during bow season, got a permit if that helps, thanks

Marlin_444

with permit yes, but.... Only for personal defense. Finishing off a bear, or deer with it will cost lots.
That would be a No... No...

I'll have my SRH .454 strapped on too :) :p :D

See you in the woods...

Ron

I agree by all means carry if you can. I worry though every time someone says "can I carry while bow hunting" because there is a difference in defending yourself from bear attack and shooting with bow and putting 2 in him for good measure "if" you find him still alive.

I am not a lawyer nor have I gotten a ruling from an authority, but the way I read it you do not have to possess a GWL to carry during the archery season as long as you are in the act of hunting with a bow and have a hunting license. And the caliber does not matter. Same with fishing as long as you are fishing and have a license to fish.

Someone tell me where I am wrong.

Go to the new hunting regs booklet pg. 28 and look at the 6th bullet under "Unlawful Activities" It specifies that you have to have a concealed carry permit and then quotes a few laws, OCGA 16-11-126f or 16-11-129 and 16-11-127. Without looking them up, I would think the above post are accurate; defense only.

I have a carry permit, and do carry when hunting. I'm more concerned about some of the people I came across than any four legged creature.

pg 28 relates, IMO, to carrying a firearm during a closed hunting season.

I have seen and can't find quickly the provision that allows you to carry a sidearm during archery season if you are participating in a hunting or fishing activity and have said license.

pg 28 relates, IMO, to carrying a firearm during a closed hunting season.