Coyote questions and assistance needed.

maxwell42583

I am very new to coyote hunting. I am seasoned at everything else in our region but coyotes just never really interested me. We are experiencing, as with the rest of Georgia, I coyote problem on our property. My Granddaddy, who passed away at 93 last year, always told me that in SWGA our coyotes experienced a bad disease that decimated the pack back in the 80's and that they will return full force one day. He said that coyotes were really bad in the early days because ranchers would drag their dead cows into the woods and pretty much feed them. This large amount of coyotes became diseased and they were naturally kept in check for about 20 years. I fear that they have returned full force, like he said would happen. I am getting game camera pics of packs chasing mature bucks and I am hearing more during night time hours. Their tracks are everywhere. We saw less deer this year than ever. I have tried to kill some at night to no avail. One night a buddy, his wife, my wife, and I parked my Ranger in one of my larger fields and could literally watch the coyotes running around us within 50 yards in the moonlight, unfortunately we had no lights or guns with us. It was like they were checking us out. My buddy and I stood on the roof and started howling and the pack all started yipping around us! It was pretty cool, yet creepy. My wife is scared to let our dogs out of the house, and I am worried about my deer herd.

My question is this, how can I cut down on the coyote population without spending a lot of money? I don’t like going in and actively hunting them at night because I do not like spooking my deer. I have tried to hunt during the day with a cheap call and a shaky rabbit decoy. I can’t get them to come in. I hate to buy an expensive electronic call, but when in Rome…. I guess. My buddies and I have killed a couple over the past hunting season while hunting, but I want to get way more of them.