Dry ice questions??

sea trout

2021 Turkey Challenge Winner 2022 biggest turkey ?
Hello!!!!
I'm going to a hunting camp in Norther Maine.
I want to bring a couple meals with me to cook at camp.
I've got 4 frozen gobbler breast and some frozen grouper and red snapper fillets.
I don't know anything really about dry ice. But I wanted to use some to keep these items frozen for a couple days.
Also....I want to bring a couple tubs of Dills coleslaw that goes well with the fish.....if I put coleslaw in as it is with the cooler with dry ice will it stay fresh or try to freeze or ruin????

Any advice on traveling with dry ice would be awesome!! I've never used dry ice before.
Thanks!!

Jim Baker

Staff member
Hello!!!!
I'm going to a hunting camp in Norther Maine.
I want to bring a couple meals with me to cook at camp.
I've got 4 frozen gobbler breast and some frozen grouper and red snapper fillets.
I don't know anything really about dry ice. But I wanted to use some to keep these items frozen for a couple days.
Also....I want to bring a couple tubs of Dills coleslaw that goes well with the fish.....if I put coleslaw in as it is with the cooler with dry ice will it stay fresh or try to freeze or ruin????

Any advice on traveling with dry ice would be awesome!! I've never used dry ice before.
Thanks!!

It will freeze the slaw. Google deaths by dry ice. Precautions should be taken.

acurasquirrel

When I went out to Wyoming I had a cooler full of frozen meals and they lasted at least a week. Used dry ice and an RTIC cooler. I don’t think your typical igloo cheapie would last as long.

treemanjohn

Banned
Regular ice works just as well if you set it up right and have a decent cooler. I wrap the frozen items in newspaper and then put them back in the freezer until I'm ready to travel. Also I use a small styrofoam cooler inside if you're going to be going in and out of the cooler

Crakajak

Daily Driveler News Team