Fossil Bones Repurposed

Anvil Head

Been too busy to post much here lately, but thought you folks might enjoy these. I picked the fossilized bones at a show last year. They had great shapes and couldn't resist. Finally got around to forging some blades and fitting them up. Drilling them out was a bit of a challenge since more mineral than bone, but I have tools.
Blades are 80crv2 and I used hemp with primitive glue on the two "Raptor" Claws, Raw hide lace on Antler Bowie. Fella I got them from swore they were tarsal bones from a V. Raptor, but being a wildlife biologist graduate I think they are most likely short ribs from some stocky small lizard. Don't know for sure but they were interesting to work with. Grandson said they were raptor toes so I'm going with his "expert" dinosarology opinion.
That's a fossil caribou leg bone for size reference.

Note: Those of you that visit me at the Blade Show - June 7,8,9, I will be moving to table 6-H (just across the aisle from were I have been).

Jan Fossil 2.JPGJan Raptor 1.JPG

trad bow

wooden stick slinging driveler
Very beautiful creation as usual from you. Thanks for sharing this with us.

Anvil Head

Thanks everyone. It's a bit surprising how comfortable and ergonomically correct those "raptor" handles are to use. The cross draw sheaths are rawhide (primitive kydex) and can be worn blade edge up or down left or right side.
Still working on sheath for Antler Bowie, which will be quite different.

Toliver

Been too busy to post much here lately, but thought you folks might enjoy these. I picked the fossilized bones at a show last year. They had great shapes and couldn't resist. Finally got around to forging some blades and fitting them up. Drilling them out was a bit of a challenge since more mineral than bone, but I have tools.