Fur buyers

Just John

Just got back from a long plane ride from Iraq, were I was a contractor. Me and another fellow worker got to talking about hunting and trapping. I use to trap as a teenager so it me got fired up about it. But I'm trying to do my homework before I put together a string of steel.

1: can anyne tell me if and where there are any realiable furbuyers in the state preferably north.

2: Whats up with the no trapping of coons in the northern zone. it's not like they're scarce or anything. I see them laying on the side of the road hit by cars all the time, sometimes sows with little ones. Or is this more of the northern zone being treated like the "Step Child".

Thanks John

evan gourley

the only buyer i know is in alma(way down south ga.)his name is jerry lee.i can get you the number if you want it.i generally ship mine to nafa but i do sell them to jerry.i live in waycross so its not far and jerry makes some killer yote baits and lures.evan

Vernon Holt

Gone But Not Forgotten
The $500 cost for a fur buyers license is not at all attractive to would-be part time raw fur buyers. Dying breed in GA. (already extinct).

Coon Hunters in North GA wield far more influence in Atlanta than does Coon trappers.

Turkey hunters and trappers should join ranks and be heard loud and clear. Biologists have long known that raccoons are the number one enemy of nesting turkeys. Turkeys in N. GA. need all the help they can get.

Much of the private land in N. GA is composed of tracts which are too small to release coon hounds on without the possibility of them tresspassing on others. These smaller tracts could be successfully trapped if it were legal.

Just John