Hunting, not Killing

splatek

UAEC
I'm a total newb at hunting. It's been an interest of mine for a while, but I decided this year to jump in and try it. Thankfully, I've had a bunch of good people helping me, talking to me, answering my endless questions; but, I've been finding it really hard to find land to hunt. I live in Gwinnett. I am not opposed to traveling, I'd rather not go through Atlanta, but I am finding that might not be possible. Side note: I'd be really interested in talking with someone that has access, lease, or club (or something I can get involved with up this way or the neighboring counties, etc). I realize the WMAs, the NF, and other public lands are available, but being so new I just don't know what I'd be looking for, doing, etc. And asking an avid hunter to stop their own hunting, in season to teach me, just seems plain rude. This past weekend I was able to get in a stand on property that my girl's brother-in-law has. He knows a lot and I learned a lot about what I am looking for, "sign", and what not. We saw some good scrapes and rubs and my stand was in a prime spot to get one. We checked the trail cam from the night before and we saw plenty of action:

IMG_5201.jpg
IMG_5199.jpg

We were in our stands early and within a half hour or so of some light, I saw a very nice doe. I was shooting a crossbow and determined that the shot was not there. I was coached to not take a shot that I wasn't taking and this one was at 40, maybe more yards with all kinds of brush between she and I. It just didn't feel right. Later that morning we both saw a spike that got spooked so neither of us has a shot at him. After that, it was a long day of watching squirrels and not seeing another deer. I was telling a buddy about this today and he reminded me, "that's why it's called 'hunting' and not 'killing'". But dang it, I want to learn how to field dress/butcher something that I kill!