Hybrid Foxes?

christianhunter

I live in coweta county,on three different occasions,in three different locations,miles apart.I have saw 3 odd phased fox.They all had white tipped tails,red backs,and yellow sides,with the usual white underbellies.I'm no expert,but body wise they appear to have traits of both the red,and gray fox.I've killed seven Grey's,and these were not the same size,they were smaller.

Last edited:

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
Sounds like color variants of the red fox. Reds and Grays probably aren't even closely related enough to hybridize. Red foxes can show a tremendous amount of color variation.

christianhunter

Red Fox white tipped tail, grey fox black tipped tail.

Yep you are right,should've looked on the computer first.Members of my family have saw red fox with black tipped tails.My wife and I saw a black fox,about five years ago,rather small and the tail not as bushy.My taxidermist said it was probably the opposite of an albino,malchinistic(sorry didn't look it up for spelling)or something like that.He said that would account for body size etc;Thanks for the correction.

C.Killmaster

Georgia Deer Biologist
It's highly unlikely that a red and grey can hybridize. They are not only different species but not even in the same genus (Red-Vulpes, Grey-Urocyon). Over the years in many different areas red foxes were bred in captivity to have different color phases when fur was a more popular item. Since the decline in fur prices foxes may have been turned loose as breeding operations failed. This was the case on some of the Alaskan islands in the Kodiak archipelago. A few odd color phases show up in GA occasionally in the illegal pet trade, which is the most likely source of the fox you saw.

Last edited:

Lowjack

I have several in My Property that look like silver foxes, the kind that are bred for pelts.tHey are totally blackish grey with a white patch on the chest and white tip tail.

christianhunter