I attend meetings for a living

Thread starter #1

sinclair1

Just getting back into the workforce after 5 years of self employment. I had one job at the first of the year that I bailed and took my current job.

I like this one much better, but like the last one, I have a calendar slap full of meetings. Literally 5 hrs a day just sitting in meeting rooms.

I guess current times have found meetings to be imporatant, but where I spent 25 years prior, they found them unproductive and we seldom had them.

Pappy hates meetings nearly as bad as he does Obummer

most meetings = waste of time

Pappy knows one company where the Plant Manager called all the supervisors together every morning, and went over a list of 200 employees, listing each one that was absent or late. Like every department head needed to know that a forklift driver in the warehouse was 5 minutes late this morning..... it drove the supervisors insane, but they couldn't get him to stop doing it. every day. Stupid if ya ask me.

After the absent/late section of the meeting, they all went over production numbers. They actually had the safety and HR supers sit in a meeting about production numbers. Every day.

Thread starter #7

sinclair1

Tommorow it's systems at 9am, then up the ladder for a meeting about production at 10am , then department meeting at 11am. Lunch at 12. Then meet with lead guys in my department to go over what came up in the up the ladder meeting at 2pm. Maybe write up some warnings or do some time sheet stuff and go home at 4pm.

This new school type company doesn't want me working over as it's bad for their work life balance reviews on Glassdoor, so it's basically 8 hours and drive home thinking I didn't even earn my pay.

We also seem to find reasons for the company to buy us lunch by throwing a meeting at the start of lunch.

Use to have that problem. Worse than a meeting are the conference calls that just go on and on.