I have questions...(LONG)

devolve

I grew up a Southern Baptist preachers son. I am 28 years old. When I moved out of my dads house at 16 I started my rebellion. I have turned my back on God and church for 12 years. I ended up a musician on the road for a number of years around all the wrong people and "things". I am now a "retired" sober drummer. I am out of the music business 100% and around "normal" people everyday. Well for the last 6 months or so I have caught my self praying for people. I also have been having a lot of "spiritual" thoughts in my head. So I decided to sit down and try an figure out what is going on and what I really believe. As a kid I studied the bible very intently and tried to prove it wrong to my dad. So I know what the bible says and I know what I was taught. But I have a problem with "fearing God". The following is something I wrote down the other night as the thoughts were going through my head.

Why are we taught all of our lives to fear god? If we live our lives in a state of fear it will alter our actions. Then we are not living life as we should be. We are living life with a silent direction that we dont need. We are told to make wise choises in life to please god. If I need to please
something I fear then I am not living life the way i should. We are told to pray for gods will in our lives. If we are supposed to make our own decisions in life why do we need gods will? Its like we are being told to listen for what god wants you to do and do it because you fear him. Are we to intent on finding out what we "should" be doing with our lives that we miss what we were put here to do?

--cjc--

gordon 2

Dear devolve,

You post is an excellent example of what can happen to our understanding when the bible is taken too literally and elements, perhaps taken out of context.