Looking for fellow Kayaker's on the southside.

Ajohnson0587

Just purchased my first Kayak for fishing and I am a newbie, I've never owned a kayak and have only paddled in one 1 other time in my life. I'd like to meet up and fish with some more experienced kayak fisherman to learn the "ropes". Any fellow fishing kayaker's around south ATL? (Henry, Spaulding, Clayton, Rockdale, Coweta etc...) I am currently waiting for the Kayak to be delivered along with my paddle and PFD, I'm hoping it doesn't take too long. Also any advice from fellow fisherman not the in the area would be much appreciated, I have been doing a good bit of research and watching a ton of YouTube videos, but the more you know the better in my opinion.

Mickey Flatshoals

I live near downtown Atlanta but travel Georgia for work. The kayak is always in the back of the truck so I can fish wherever I’m going. If I’m heading down south I’ll dm you. I won’t be in your area in the next week.

Last edited:

Ajohnson0587

I live near downtown Atlanta but travel Georgia for work. The kayak is always in the back of the truck so I can fish wherever I’m going. If I’m heading down south I’ll dm you. I won’t be in your area in the next week.

sounds good, hopefully my kayak is here when I hear from you lol. shipping is taking longer then expected, but then again it's a kayak lol.;

crackerdave

Advice from an old kayak fisher: don't over load on the bells and whistles on your new boat,keep it down to two rods and a small tackle box,I hate a cluttered boat.
Fish municipal water reservoirs.
Buy a comfortable high-back seat.
I sold my kayak because I'm too old to handle the loading and unloading,and I drive a soft-top Jeep now.
Look on the Ga DNA website for some good small lakes to fish.Every good sized town has a water reservoir,and they don't allow gas motors.They are good,clean water and the fish are delicious.