Marietta Fishing

I am a student at Southern Poly in Marietta, and school just got out for the summer semester, so it's time to catch up on some fishing. I don't have much spare time between classes and work, but would like to find a close location around where I can go with some friends.

I haven't been able to find many places to fish around here, and was wondering if anyone had some input on smaller lakes and ponds that were decent for bass/bream. Thanks.

-RT-

Last edited:

creekrunner

I went to Southern Tech in the early eighties and I use to go up to Lake Marvin at Johns mountain above Calhoun.It's a pretty good drive, but I always thought it was worth it.They use to rent boats for five bucks at the girl scout camp, don't know if they still do (I'm sure it wouldn't be five bucks anymore). It is a beautiful small lake and we use to catch a lot of bream out of it.

Randall

How close are you looking for ?

I know a few places but none are real close to there. You would have to drive at least 30 minutes away. Some are small ponds and others are small lakes. How close are you looking for ?

Well, my parents still live in Grayson (Gwinnett Co.), so I go home on occasion and fish there. About a 30 minute radius is about as far as I would want to go.

Randall