Misfire Question

jbogg

I am still relatively new to muzzleloading so I will pose this question to you experts. While at the range this morning I had two misfires in a row. Both times there was a small puff of smoke from the primer. I had only fired 5 - 6 shots at that point so I initially assumed that I must have built up so much crud in the breech plug that the spark was unable to reach the powder. I always run a wet patch followed by a few dry patches down the barrel in between each shot.

When I got home to do a thorough cleaning I had to use the ramrod to push the Barnes Bullet and two white hot pellets through the breech. The pellets had clearly been seared by the primer spark, but did not ignite. I use the CVA barrel cleaning patches in between each shot and I’m wondering if I did not get the cleaning solvent completely removed and dried out around the breech, and if it might have dampened the pellets to the point where they wouldn’t fire. This was the first time this has ever happened to me and I probably have 50 - 60 rounds through the barrel since new. Any ideas?
43FA29EF-C1B2-4E2C-83A2-E1E22AE27275.jpeg

Mr Bya Lungshot

BANNED LUNATIC FRINGE
I tried to gamble with some 209 primers that had been under water years before.
Hard lesson learned as it cost me a nice buck. Problem was it was just loud enough to spook the buck off with a fizzle but not fire the round. I knew the issue immediately and popped in another fresh primer but too late.
In your situation I think you got something wet.
You don’t have to clean after each and every shot. Some say a fouled barrel shoots best. I take about 4 5 or 6 shots before I clean it at all. Maybe poke the breech with a wire after a few. When the last one is a bit too tight seating I know it’s time to clean the barrel. Maybe I should try your wipes and maybe you should try my method meeting in the middle somewhere??? Lol.