Mushroom I.D.

Jimmypop

I walked up on these this a.m. in a pine thicket. Both very small. Are they edible ? What are they called ?

Attachments

• 1013180946.jpg
    1013180946.jpg
    194.9 KB · Views: 53
  • 1013180944a.jpg
    1013180944a.jpg
    265.4 KB · Views: 51
I'm new to this, but you are looking in the wrong direction. There are SO many fungus, you have to look for the few you can eat. I don't believe either is a common edible mushroom. I avoid anything with a true gill structure.

Eidolon

They are both *possibly* edible amanita Jacksonii, but a mistake in that regard could kill you. It's not something to work out on the internet. You have to have a teacher, an expert, regarding many mushrooms in this area. I have studied mushrooms for a couple of years now, and I wouldn't *consider* tasting those...

treemanjohn

Banned
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="
" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
In most cases, except for a few really distinctive species, it is virtually impossible to positively ID a mushroom just from an overall picture of it. Often, you need to examine the gills and their type of attachment to the stem, the annulus or lack of, how it comes from the ground, spore prints; and in many cases, testing reaction of the tissue to ammonia or other chemicals, or even examining the spores under a microscope to make an absolute positive ID. There are literally thousands of species of mushrooms out there, and many of the groups are really hard to sort into species.

From what I can see, those both look like they are in the Amanita genus, which contains most of the world's deadliest mushrooms that cause the vast majority of deaths. It also contains some edible species, but why take that risk?