Paddle or Peddle for Fishing

cycler

Newbie here, want to kayak fish when we move to Georgia next month. Would appreciate comments or thoughts on which you prefer for fishing from a kayak; paddle/pedal and why. Thanks in advance, cycler

fish hawk

Bass Master
It all depends of what type of water you'll be fishing.Will you be fishing large lakes,rivers,bays the ocean or will you mainly be fishing small creeks,small lakes,ponds or rocky rivers?

Last edited:

fish hawk

Bass Master
If stripers are your goal and you'll mainly be fishing lakes then you'll probably be better off with a peddler.Peddle kayaks are generally more stable,offer hands free fishing and you can gain more speed with less effort.Some of the down sides to a peddle kayak are price,weight and they are not very practical for fishing smaller waters or river with a lot of shoals.The up side to paddle kayaks are price,weight and being able to access waters where peddling is not pratical,although companies are now offering peddle kayaks in smaller platforms and lower weights.

cycler

If stripers are your goal and you'll mainly be fishing lakes then you'll probably be better off with a peddler.Peddle kayaks are generally more stable,offer hands free fishing and you can gain more speed with less effort.Some of the down sides to a peddle kayak are price,weight and they are not very practical for fishing smaller waters or river with a lot of shoals.The up side to paddle kayaks are price,weight and being able to access waters where peddling is not pratical,although companies are now offering peddle kayaks in smaller platforms and lower weights.

Thanks for the info. All new to me and your insights are appreciated.

Rabun