Pulverized or pellitized lime?

csu41826

This is my first year trying a small food crop in the back of my parents property and I need to put a ton of lime on my small .32 acre area. I can get pulverized lime for $2.99/50lbs or pelletized for $4.69/40lbs. The pulverized is clearly cheaper, is there a difference or is it just messier to use the pulverized? Thanks for any help.

Milkman

Deer Farmer Moderator
Staff member
Wow. The test showed you need to 3 tons per acre ??

The question is how do you plan to spread your lime???

If using a cone type spreader with a tractor or ATV you will have to use pelletized. The powdered will not go through.

csu41826

Im sorry, I said a ton. Literally 1000 lbs... 70 lbs per 1000 sqft. Does a broadcast spreader not work for powdered?

Canuck5

Food Plot advisor extraordinaire !
Nope, I wished it did .... but that is why pelletized lime was invented, so it could flow thru a whirlybird/broadcast type spreader. :(

Bushhog Bob

Tractor Supply in Dalton had 40 lb. bags of pelletized lime on sale this week for $3.00 per bag. I bought 30 bags. I have a Ezee Flow drop spreader that will work on both types of lime.

csu41826

Thanks y'all. Got the pelletized and spread 750lbs with a 50lb fertilizer spreader.... what a pain

csu41826

How are you planning to plow that spot?
How are you planning to plow that spot?

I ran over it several times with some disc with the ol massey Ferguson. Put out 750 lbs of lime from tractor supply with a hand spreader, 500 lbs of fertilizer from the water authority's pelletizing plant with that same spreader, ran over everything again with the discs, ran over it with a pulverizer (no access to a culti-packer), spread 3 lbs of whitetail institute imperial clover and 3 lbs of chicory, then ran over it with a water filled aerator with the fourwheeler... hopefully something good will happen.

Did I do any of that wrong?

Hookedup