Rotten subfloor in used RV--help!

erhunter

Hey all,
Unfortunately found some water damage in a used 2003 RV pull behind I just purchased. It is in the front subfloor storage area. It does impact the framing beams in this front corner subfloor. The main floor appears unaffected so I believe the leak came from the storage flap door.

Do I need to rip out all the affected wood? Are there any quick cheap fixes like dumping boric acid and epoxy over the rotting wood and just sealing off the storage leak?

Any advice is appreciated, I really screwed up on this one.

Attachments

• IMG_2735.JPG
    IMG_2735.JPG
    32.7 KB · Views: 398
  • IMG_2733.JPG
    IMG_2733.JPG
    41.2 KB · Views: 404
  • IMG_2736.jpg
    IMG_2736.jpg
    65.3 KB · Views: 401
  • IMG_2737.JPG
    IMG_2737.JPG
    35.9 KB · Views: 401

Batjack

Cap`n Jack 1313
I don't know nuth'n bout berth'n no RVs, but as a carpenter I can tell you that wood rot is like cancer. If you leave it, it will grow and grow. Cut it out a couple of inches after you get into the good wood and replace it. Sorry the news couldn't be better.

swamp hunter

Wood is cheap...your labor is what's gonna matter.

Grub Master

Is it liberal plywood, as in rotted all the way through?
Or is there just surface rot?

I'd fix the leak first and dry out everything real good.
It wouldn't hurt to prime the plywood when you replace it.
Don't beat yourself up on not seeing it before buying the camper.
It's doesn't look too bad.

Dr. Strangelove

Treated!

And BJ is right cut is all the first and hope it is the last time.

... and find and fix the leak or you're gonna be doing it all over again.

erhunter

Yea this is all new to me, it is rotten all the way thru and into the studs that form the front corner of the subfloor.

So once rot starts, it will spread even if you stop the leak? When I do replace the wood, is there a pressure treated plywood and studs I should be using?

I looked up this product from rot doctor: 1)CPES 2)Fill it