Spooked Deer Advice

Brojbennett

I am fairly new to hunting and need some advice. I was doing a little scouting today and found a spot I thought would be great to put a ladde stand. I stood there and looked for a couple minutes and when I started walking again a deer jumped up from bedding about 20 yards away. I don’t know enough about deer bedding to know if I should go back into that spot to put the stand up, or try to put one a little farther away. Thoughts?

bany

Probably a fine spot to put a stand.

Mr Bya Lungshot

BANNED LUNATIC FRINGE
Intuition would tell me you picked a great tree but I wouldn’t put a stand there for about a month or few.
Not enough details to be called a great spot but hey the deer was definitely there.
You need to put your stand where the deer “will be” not so much were.
If you bow hunt find that healthy stand of white oak and stay out till the time and wind is right.

across the river

Considering you have months before the season starts, I wouldn't worry about it.

westcobbdog

I am fairly new to hunting and need some advice. I was doing a little scouting today and found a spot I thought would be great to put a ladde stand. I stood there and looked for a couple minutes and when I started walking again a deer jumped up from bedding about 20 yards away. I don’t know enough about deer bedding to know if I should go back into that spot to put the stand up, or try to put one a little farther away. Thoughts?

Try to position stand affording best shot but also where you are not on stage but more concealed, also try to pick a location where you can enter and exit without being easily detected, also try to be consistently downwind from where you think they will be.

HarryO45

Mag dump Dirty Harry