Tactics for Targeting Big Browns while Floating Hooch

Toasty

Howdy Y'all,

Looking for some advice on fishing for the big browns on the hooch while floating below Buford Dam to the A. I understand that big flies and big lures are called for; I feel good about selecting the flies but I'm new to spin fishing and still learning the lures. What would you recommend for lures when specifically targeting the big browns on the hooch? All big browns caught will be released, so I tend to replace treble hooks with single hooks if that matters to the way it swims.

Also for tackle: a light or even medium rod with something like a Daiwa BG 3000?

Thanks for any help y'all!

Coenen

That BG setup with a med action stick would be pretty solid. That's pretty close to what I use actually. You need something that'll give you some stopping power in the current.

Without being too specific, think about what they're eating, and imitate that. Those fish are born mean, so size isn't an issue. They'll attack anything they perceive to be food, and that's pretty much everything.

Toasty

That BG setup with a med action stick would be pretty solid. That's pretty close to what I use actually. You need something that'll give you some stopping power in the current.

Without being too specific, think about what they're eating, and imitate that. Those fish are born mean, so size isn't an issue. They'll attack anything they perceive to be food, and that's pretty much everything.

Thanks for the tip! Also what line do you use? I was thinking 10-20 lb braid to a few feet of fluoro (maybe something in the 10# range?).

Coenen

My general purpose spin fishing rig for hooch trout is a 6'6"ML with a BG2000, 10lb braid and 4lb fluoro.

I think you'd want to AT LEAST double that tackle if you're meaning to target the big boys exlcusively.

Toasty

My general purpose spin fishing rig for hooch trout is a 6'6"ML with a BG2000, 10lb braid and 4lb fluoro.