The Veterans Administration

Bones

I am 68 years old retired on Medicare and a veteran. I had my neighbor tell me he took his brother to the VA hospital for a medical issue. He asked me being that I was a Veteran why I did not use the VA for all my medical needs. I could not give him an answer except that I was on Medicare with a supplement coverage. With all the knowledge on here could you guys tell me. Should I be going to the VA for my medical needs or is there some kind of requirement other then being a Veteran to use the VA.

Thanks Steve

georgia_home

My father had outside coverage through most of his life, and veterinarian coverage too.

I let him choose how he got his care. A huge mistake. The veterinary clinic he want to completely misdiagnosed a 99% blockage of his colon. Cancer.

Use the veterinarians for things you can get free or cheaper, maybe like meds or tests if they are cheaper and where possible. I don't how much of that is allowed.

I would recommend that NO ONE use the VA if they have a choice.

hipster dufus

i am eligible for va care and havent stepped foot in a clinic in 37 yrs. it truly is for the desperate. my son is eligible and he cant believe the place.but sometimes one has no better choices. good luck

Uptonongood

There is huge variation in administration and clinical care quality between VA hospitals, specialities of care and administration of those facilities. The VA hospitals that are closely aligned with medical schools typically have better patient care.

That being said, unless the veteran has amputation issues, Agent Orange illnesses, traumatic brain injury, hearing loss or PTSD, I would recommend using private, non-VA medical care sources for help if at all possible.