Training a Texas Lacy to Track Deer

CharrDad

I got a Texas Lacy pup last fall (she's now 4 months old), and am hoping to train her to track deer. I'd love to get her ready for the 2019 season. Anyone have advice on training methods, resources, clubs, etc. I'm in the north Atlanta area but am willing to travel to learn from other Lacy owners or trackers. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

treemanjohn

Banned
I am no pro to take it for what it's worth. My father and I several back in the day using raw deer meat and blood as a treat. The best dog was a Dachshund but we used whatever dog was in the yard, All of them would also hunt sheds

You can cut a hole in an old tennis ball and drop some meat or blood in it if your dog likes to fetch.

When it comes to training never ever overwork a dog. Spend 10-15 minutes and then it's play time. Also trust the dog and watch him work. If he wants to go in a different direction than you want he may be working the wind. Too many people expect the dog to be on a string, few will

Hillbilly stalker

^^^^ That's called casting, there is a difference between a trailing dog and a tracking dog. Nothing wrong with either, both will get you there. And your right, most people don't know the difference, it takes time and patience. Short training periods and keeping it fun is the way to go.

Blackston

I always wanted mine to track blood not DEER.

BDD

My lab tracked me to my stand several times hours after I had left the house.

So this year I took him to the spot I shot a deer with a crossbow. Only about a hundred yard track

But in the dark thru a wall of briar patch he save me a lot of time and skin. Next time I’m going to attach

A cow bell to him so he’s easier to follow.

Bkeepr