Trout Id

mikevp

I went to NC on vacation this past June. While there I was able to fish in a small private stream behind our rental and caught the trout pictured below. It was over 19" and my best to date. I assumed it was a brown but after showing a few people pictures it made me second guess.
Any ideas on what type this is?

Attachments

• 20200114_173538.jpg
    20200114_173538.jpg
    162.3 KB · Views: 246

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
100% Stocker brook trout.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
Thank you! I'm new to trout fishing but how do tell the difference between a stocked and native trout?
First of all, there are no 19" native brook trout floating around out there these days. The average adult native brook trout is about 5"-6" long. Second of all, native brook trout live in tiny headwater streams. Third of all, that fish has absolutely no color. It is a pitiful, washed-out fish raised in a concrete pond on trout pellets. Here is what a native brook trout in western NC looks like:

speck4.jpg

speck4.jpg
c1speck3.jpg

c1speck7.jpg

See any difference?

Cmp1

BANNED
First of all, there are no 19" native brook trout floating around out there these days. The average adult native brook trout is about 5"-6" long. Second of all, native brook trout live in tiny headwater streams. Third of all, that fish has absolutely no color. It is a pitiful, washed-out fish raised in a concrete pond on trout pellets. Here is what a native brook trout looks like:

View attachment 998862

View attachment 998864
View attachment 998866

View attachment 998868

See any difference?
Think there might be some natives up here NCH?

mikevp

That makes sense why I couldn't Id it on Google images and descriptions. Google almost convinced me it was a hybrid or tiger trout.... so it's just domesticated.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member