I dyed, waxed, and put them up...

buckpasser

Here’s Mama staring at the possum that got hung up last night after I adjusted the pan tensions way down...

Maybe tonight’s the night!

E71D9C15-09E0-42B3-8FF6-DA209694F877.jpeg

buckpasser

Finally...

Success only occurred after the chicken was wired to an earth anchor and pan tension decreased. I’m a newbie, but this has been a humbling yet educational run!

82ACBCC5-9E53-4D23-93F7-D7CACDA42864.jpegA9AAB712-D6B5-477D-843E-AE20EDF8CD03.jpeg

antharper

“Well Rounded Outdoorsman MOD “
Staff member
Heck yeah bud , I knew you’d get em , now on to the rest of the family

buckpasser

Nice catch! What kind of traps are you using?

Duke #3s and MB550s (with light pan tension now!).

Edit: Even though these traps are NOT a #2, they are well within the legal jaw spread for GA. I don’t want anyone to think I’m knowingly or unknowingly outlaw trapping.

Last edited:

buckpasser

this looks like so much fun!, thank you for sharing!
JT

I’m enjoying it easily as much as hunting right now. I’m not that good at it, but that’s what’s keeping me going now. Also, I’m blessed to be able to trap at work which is huge as the time requirement is pretty intense.

buckpasser

Another good morning! I slept later than normal, but as I checked the covert set, this was there to greet me.

F190CF7D-EF92-4AE3-B423-A145F671494B.jpeg

Upon arrival this young female was caught. The strange thing was that she has basically stayed in one “triangle” instead of tugging in a circle, avoiding the other traps of the compass set. Was she aware of the other traps? Anyway, I was proud to catch two this week bringing my grand total to six. Also, one third of my total have been black which seems pretty high to me. Couldn’t be more pumped about trapping right now, knowing there’s that much less venison being consumed on the farm.

3A66B57E-3A90-4FE5-B61F-E80A37B945C6.jpeg884CD48C-4AF4-41EC-94E4-E4D471486C0A.jpeg

Doug B.