Methodist split - Florida update

brutally honest

It's too late to get in the details, but none of these links are authoritative. The first link is an internet bulletin board discussion. The Wikipedia link about "Pope" Joan starts off with the admission that it's just a legend.

GeorgiaBob

Just not true. I'm not an expert on Orthodoxy, but I know they do not ordain women. St. John Chrysostom, who is revered in the West as well as the East, said, "The office of bishop excludes all women and most men."

There were women who served as deaconesses but never as priests or bishops.

Ordination of Women - Questions & Answers - Orthodox Church in America (oca.org)

https://womenpriests.org/ecumenism/orthodox-the-orthodox-churches/

https://womenpriests.org/articles-books/fahey-eastern-orthodoxy-and-the-ordination-of-women/

There is a very large and distinct difference between the "official" positions of the particular Church and the lesser known facts in the church's history.

Women were a part of the leadership in the Eastern Orthodox churches. Their rules for ordination to this day do not preclude the ordination of women. Yes, most of the Orthodox churches accept women as deacons (traditionally recognized as a role subject to Bishops, but not subservient to Priests) but not priests. It is also true that a woman served as the priest for two congregations of the Russian Orthodox church between 1919 and 1925. The woman was considered for Bishop before the first Stalin purge after the death of Lenin.

GeorgiaBob

Sorry, I never met this Bart Ehrman. Seems to be a nice guy. I noted, looking at his bio, that he got his MDiv and TheoDr at Princeton. Same place my wife got her MDiv. Nice school in a pleasant part of NJ. None of that makes his more accurate than other scholars. By the way I had no idea that the UNC had a "religious studies" department. Good for them.