Okay Woods Hogs (Newbie help)

Cobb86

Hi Folks,

Newbie here, first post from earlier today is in the new member intro thread. Jist of it is I am brand new to hunting and need a lot help, haha.

Considering heading to Oaky Woods next weekend to chase hogs as my wife and son are out of town. Would be using a bow. Not a marksman but I can shoot 20-25 yards just fine. However, given that I am a total novice and do not know the area, is a public land hog spot & stalk way out of my league? I understand chances of success are slim, but don't want to be miserable either.

If I'm not insane, where do hogs hang out in this WMA? I don't mean specific GPS coordinates; but what type of topography or land features am I looking for while e-scouting?

Is Oaky Woods area pretty wet and marshy? What type of footwear/clothing would one recommend? Are there any facilities on site for skinning out and quartering?

In the event a miracle occurs, any advice on hauling the pig out of the woods? Gut on site, drag it out? Quarter it? Can you avoid gutting it? I've never actually had to field dress and quarter an animal, but I don't mind getting dirty and figuring it out. YouTube helps a lot, but at some point one has to jump in the pool.

Amy other thoughts/advice/tips/guidance is highly appreciated. Please feel free to PM, I understand some don't want things made public, but I'll take all the help I can get.

And if anyone familiar with the area has some time next weekend...I'm happy to buy dinner and drinks at the end of the day. Sorry for the long post.

Best,
ST (Cobb86)

sportsman94