wiring a jon boat

ja88red

I have a 1436 tracker it has a 4 switch panel mounted in the rear seat. What guage wire is needed to run trolling motor and a depth finder to the front I have nevwr done anything like this before so I am new to it all

serving1Lord

I have a 1542LW Tracker. I wired my bow mounted trolling motor with 10 gauge wire. Works like a champ. Hope this helps.

Todd71673

I'd say like a 6awg or bigger for the TM depending on how far away it is from the battery you might not need any. As far as electronics go I'd use 12-16awg because not much juice is flowing but you want it to be sturdy.

Maggie Dog

you need to know a few things.
how many amps on the trolling motor?
and the length from battery to the motor and back again to the battery. you figure DC voltage like a round trip.
Give me this info and I can tell you the size wire, or you can go with some 8 wire and you should be good to go. run a dedicated line for your electronics, sometimes you can pick up interference from other things. a 12 wire would be ideal. kinda overkill, but you would not have to worry about undersizing wire.
Boats should use tinned wire with the proper tinned connectors. do a study of boat wiring on the web, it's easy , it's also another excuse to buy more tools, if you like collecting tools.
If you don't feel like tackling the job, I could wire it up.

ja88red

well it is wired but I want to make sure it is wired correct before I get out on the water with it

Todd71673

How bout some details; Battery in the back or front or both? TM on front or back or both? Is the Livewell wired in to the boat or independent?
My thinking when I built mine was that I wanted two independent systems of propulsion; 2 batteries and 2 TM. Because I really never want to use my paddle!

ja88red

I have two batteries, motorguide 45lb, lowrance mark 5 pro, and a mark 4, bildge pump and bow and stern lights

ja88red