Anyone use Buffers in your muzzleloader loads

mmarkey

Has any one tried or use buffers in your muzzle loader charges?

I experimented using "Cream of Wheat" abt 20gr. over 120gr. 3x black powder in a .45 Cal flintlock with a .440 round ball, and it worked real well. Patches weren't scorched at all. It seems to me as though the rifle kicks substantially more with the buffer but the groups were very good. Probably because the patch didn't burn maybe?

Anyone?

leoparddog

I've never even heard of doing such with a muzzleloader. I have heard of it done with black powder era cartridges using smallish charges of smokeless powder. I've been shooting muzzleloaders since 1989 and a Hawkins percussion was my first deer rifle.

I can't really figure out what the purpose of it would be in a muzzleloader. With the above mentioned cartriges one of the purposes is to keep the smallish charge of powder confined to the area nearest the primer. Small charges of powder in large BP cases can result in variable detonation depending on distribution in the relatively large case.

With a muzzleloader, the ball is seated tightly on top of the charge, so the reason it is sometimes used with metallic cartridges would not apply.

As far as burning the patch goes, a "burnt" patch does not signify anything. The patch works as a seal between the ball and the barrel. Lubricated, a patch also helps keep BP fouling soft and the gun shooting without cleaning every few shots. Usually the patch just comes out dirty with fouling.

If you're getting better groups, it might be worth it to you, but there are other ways of getting better groups. I guess its a "whatever floats your boat".

dbone

Outdoor Cafe Moderator
Hmmm???? Teresa ! Grab the grits Hon we're going to the range :shoot:

killitgrillit

mmarkey said: