Beaver Trap Size?

fatback

Would a MB 550 offset be big enough to use in a drowning/castor mound set for beaver or do you need a 750?

4x4

I use Duke #4's and 330 Conibears. If your targeting the front foot, your MB550's should work. I would use a larger foothold trap if trying to get them by the back foot.

ldhfff

I've caught them in Victor #3 dls and they work great in drowners. As stated 550's on front foot would work but bigger is better when back foot is considered.

fatback

I’m planning on making a couple of castor mound sets on a pond where they are causing some damage. If I set close enough to the mound I’m guessing that it would predominantly be front foot catches, correct? I’m planning on using a couple of cinder blocks for the other end of the drowning cable. I can drive the truck right up to where I went to set so carrying them in isn’t an issues. Would 2 cinder blocks be enough to hold one down to drown it quickly? This is my first attempt at water trapping. I ordered the cables and T bar stakes and some lure today. I’ll update when I get everything set. Thanks for the input. Any advise is appreciated.

Doug B.

Closer would target the front foot and that's what I would do too,but you never know, they could still step over it and put the back foot in the trap. I would turn the trap with the levers perpendicular to the bank.
Two cinder blocks should be heavy enough to keep them down.

oldguy

Just me but one block should be enough. This is kinda' like that "use enough gun discussion" a #550 MIGHT work but a #750 WILL work. Heck I caught one in a #1.5 set for mink one time. Don't mean a #1.5 is a good beaver trap. I can tell you one thing you DON'T want and that's an educated beaver - less you want to pull all your hair out! Do it right and catch him the first time.
Might look at using snares. You can buy a dozen snares for less than one MB 750!