Best corded Random Orbital Sander?

Artfuldodger

I was leaning towards a corded Dewalt although I'm not fond of their battery tools. Someone mentioned Makita, I've had good luck with Bosch tools. Does it need to be variable speed? I've never used one before.
I have a 1/4 sheet palm sander which is mostly a finishing sander and a belt sander so i'm looking for something in between.
I don't do that much wood working any more but when you need a tool, you need it. The random orbital sander looks to be more versatile.

Artfuldodger

Dewalt 5 inch is what I have. Several years old and works like new. Also home depot Ridge brand is also good.
If you mean Ridgid, I've uses some of their battery drills, etc. Plus a heap of their pipe wrenches. I'll look at that one as well, It's a full 3 amps and is variable speed, Thanks!
Edit; I went back and looked as some of the reviews of the Ridgid. It looks like it's quality may have diminished over the past few years which is not unusual these days.

Last edited:

hipster dufus

For something u will use sparingly, harbor freight it

Artfuldodger

For something u will use sparingly, harbor freight it
I actually thought about that, I have some Harbor Freight tools and they work OK for occasional use.
They have a Hercules branded 3.0amp for $59.99. It gets some bad reviews concerning the dust collector plastic clips and the sandpaper not staying on the pad.
I can get a Ryobi for $10 more. Harbor Freight does have a Bauer for $39.99. It doesn't get the best reviews either. It would be OK to catch it half price.

Raylander

I’m Billy’s Useles Uncle.
They’re all the same. Some days the Chinamen use yellow plastic, some days red plastic, some days blue plastic, etc.. If it’s casual use, no difference. If it’s an everyday tool. Go pneumatic and buy a dynabrade..

TomC