Biscuit insights

GDAWG84

I have a really good biscuit recipe that was handed down to me from my grandparents. Here’s the problem: whenever I make them, they crumble. Taste and texture are just right but they fall apart whenever you slice one. I do know that Pop’s were smooth across the top like a normal biscuit and mine are more rougher, more like a drop biscuit. Anybody got any insight as to what I’m doing wrong?

gobbleinwoods

Keeper of the Magic Word
Are you overworking the dough?

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
Could be overworking it, or mixing it too stiff. Do you crumble the lard into the flour with your fingers until it's like course sand before adding the buttermilk?

Paymaster

Old Worn Out Mod
Staff member
These folks can help. They know biscuits.

Reactions: Dub

kayaksteve

I’m no professional but I would think crumbly biscuits could be from being underworked dough. I always heard “don’t over work the dough!” So out of paranoia I think I didn’t work it enough for the longest time. My biscuits were pretty crumbly til I found the right folding technique

GDAWG84

Was Pop's dough as thick as yours?
I think so? He made them different. He would make a well in the middle of his flour and add his wet ingredients so that he was literally only making one biscuit at a time. I mix it all up together into one dough ball and pinch biscuits off that.

GDAWG84

Could be overworking it, or mixing it too stiff. Do you crumble the lard into the flour with your fingers until it's like course sand before adding the buttermilk?
I do. I cut it into the four with a pastry cutter or fork. Guess I could be overworking the dough. It’s pretty stiff and dry when I get done with it.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
I do. I cut it into the four with a pastry cutter or fork. Guess I could be overworking the dough. It’s pretty stiff and dry when I get done with it.