Dove Field??

fatback

What would be something or a combination that could be planted here in the next week or 2 that would have a chance to be huntable late season? It is fairly sandy soil in south central GA. Will get all day sun and is near pond with a fairly clean bank/edge. I will be getting soil samples done next week and will lime/fertilize as recommended I am more interested in what would have a chance to make in 3 to 4 months. Field will be about 4.5-5 acres. I’ve never done this before and would like to try. I just got the property last week so that is why it’s such a late start. Thanks.

sportsman94

I would look at sorghum. Think it’s 100 days to maturity or somewhere round there. It seems to be pretty hearty and could double as a deer plot if you deer hunt. Good news with the deer is it’s tall so they feel comfortable using it even in daylight. Sunflowers would be 110-120 days I think? Millet and or buckwheat would be ready in about 45-60 days if memory serves correctly. I would imagine rain is going to be the biggest factor going into the dry months. Good luck!

Big7

The Oracle
Proso + brown top millet. ?
You will see seeds in 60 - 70 days.

It's the "magic bullet" :wink:

doomtrpr_z71

hes-right-you-know-morgan-freeman.gif

antharper

“Well Rounded Outdoorsman MOD “
Staff member
Millet , easy to grow, cheap and matures fast . Also the dove love it .

fatback

The sorghum won't be mature until November
That would be ok with me. I’m think of hopefully having a shoot around Thanksgiving. Also since it seems the deer like it as well that would be a bonus. I just wasn’t sure if they would out compete each other and if I’d be wasting my time and money to try and do both?

doomtrpr_z71

You just have to pick which one you want seed heads from, millet matures faster than sorghum so your looking at maturity in 2 months vs 3 months.

sportsman94