First for me on Lake Lanier

GAHUNTER60

I've been fishing Lake Lanier for over 55 years. Yesterday, my son hooked and landed this fish while we were doodling a dock in 25' of water on the Chattahoochee River just north of Wahoo Creek.

1646001278875.jpeg
It was a first for me in my 55-plus years on the lake, although I know lots of folks who have caught them before. I was beginning to believe those folks were seeing things, but apparently, they were not.

From my son's reaction, you would have thought that we had just caught a world record bass, as he was so excited that he was shaking all over when it came to the surface and were able to identify what we had.

BTW, we released it unhurt, as he decided that even though their reputation as table fare is legendary, they are just too rare a catch to kill, especially as big as this one.

buckpasser

Nice! That’s a bucket list fish for me. To do it in GA would be amazing.

GAHUNTER60

Well, what can I say. He spent four years at Auburn on an ROTC, full-ride scholarship, and is now a Major in the Army with only seven years 'til retirement. At the moment, he's getting his Master's at Ga Tech on the Army's dime.

BTW, I put two more boys through Auburn; attended school there myself (along with my sister); and my Mom and Dad met and married there in the 1930s. Additionally, my granddaddy was employed at the manager of the school dairy in the 1920s.

You might say that Auburn is in our blood!

Duff

That is a nice one!! Congratulations!

Worley

Dang awesome fish and story. Congrats on the fish of a lifetime, great catch fellas!

GAHUNTER60

Also, can anyone identify this little guy? He's got the markings of a bream, but the shape and mouth of a bass. He's too light colored to be a warmouth, is he not?

Maybe a rock bass?
1646008338159.jpeg

antharper

“Well Rounded Outdoorsman MOD “
Staff member
Congrats on the walleye ! For sure a Ga fish of a lifetime . I’m gonna say the last one is a warmouth . Just from clear water