Garmin 100 & 200 e- collars

bnew17

Just curious who uses the Garmin 100 or 200 e collars? The training video i am following stresses the timing of the stimulation when correcting the dog/pup. I have never used one before, but it seems their (100 & 200) main focus is the gps feature, which I need as well. I just was not sure how people liked the e collar/stim feature. Thanks

Rebel's Dad

I'm not familiar with the 200, but I've used the 100 since they came out. If you have one dog and lock the screen the 100 works OK as a shock collar. If you have more than one dog it's cumbersome to switch from one dog to another.

You want to lock the screen because if you don't anything touching it can change the settings.

It's also not easy to change the stim level on the fly, but you can set each of the three physical buttons up for a different level, or even a different dog.

A dedicated e collar is easier to use, especially without having to look at it, but the 100 will work. It takes a bit of a learning curve to get the most out of it.

If you have other questions I'm happy to help--just quote this post so I see it in my notifications.

The GPS function is great. I won't hunt a dog without one anymore.

watermedic

I have the 200i but am running the T5 collars. I really have no need to shock my dogs. Just want to track them.

bnew17

I'm not familiar with the 200, but I've used the 100 since they came out. If you have one dog and lock the screen the 100 works OK as a shock collar. If you have more than one dog it's cumbersome to switch from one dog to another.

You want to lock the screen because if you don't anything touching it can change the settings.

It's also not easy to change the stim level on the fly, but you can set each of the three physical buttons up for a different level, or even a different dog.

A dedicated e collar is easier to use, especially without having to look at it, but the 100 will work. It takes a bit of a learning curve to get the most out of it.