Helpful advice for raising quail (long post)

pine nut

I used to raise quail for my own use and training of my dogs. Everything I read about the process, indicated that one could not mix different age birds in a pen. I did it routinely and did not suffer any losses of young birds. It is my hope that this knowledge, I learned of necessity, may help others in increasing their success, at the least, with raising more birds.
I am new to you guys here but have hung out on GON traditional archery forum for a long time. I know Mark (Rapidfire) from archery hunts and shoots. Bird hunting has always been my passion, (most fun a man can have standing up with pants on.)LOL
I went whole hog into hatching and raising quail and this is what I did, starting from taking bird's out a hatcher:
I had built about seven boxes with 1/4" hardware cloth in the bottom to let droping fall through. The chicks were placed there with a feeder and waterer, and they would stay in there until reaching 6 to eight weeks of age...make the boxes big enough for 60 -65 birds. I set a hundred eggs a week in each tray of the incubator, and there were three trays. Kept up with hatching dates for each tray and moved the eggs to a hatcher accordingly.