Hunting squirrel on WMA during bow season

jefftap

What is the consensus on using a shotgun for small game on WMA during archery season? I am still new to hunting and don't want to mess up a deer hunters day, much less shoot some archer with my 20 gauge looking for squirrel (which is my reason for using a shotgun rather than 22).

antharper

“Well Rounded Outdoorsman MOD “
Staff member
You can use any small game weapon , if your concerned about messing up a bow hunters hunt , which I think we all should be I’d just hunt just like I was on any public land hunt , if I see a vehicle parked I go find me another spot , but u don’t have to , I killed a deer a couple years ago on Wma and 30 minutes before had a guy with his squirrel dog walk within 50 yds of me

ucfireman

As far as messing up a bow hunters hunt. You moving around will get the deer up and they may be able to see something they normally wouldn't.
As far as not wanting to shoot a deer hunter. Are you not looking at what you are shooting? A squirrel looks nothing like a person, even in camo. I guess a miss is possible and the bullet will carry but that is a chance you take anywhere.

Its public land, hunt when, where and with what you want as long as it is legal.

crackerdave

What is the consensus on using a shotgun for small game on WMA during archery season? I am still new to hunting and don't want to mess up a deer hunters day, much less shoot some archer with my 20 gauge looking for squirrel (which is my reason for using a shotgun rather than 22).
Have you taken any hunter safety courses?

Mark K

Banned
I’d rather you use a shotgun and I understand your concern. Most hunters are in the trees with the squirrels and a miss could impact someone 150 yards away you don’t see. Legit question, not sure why others can’t see it, lol. If your WMA is open for small game then go for it. I believe most of ours are down here as well, just check your regs before heading out.

sb1010