I want to try a crossbow - I have a question

shdw633

Depending on the model they can go out farther than that for a clean kill. I have mine set up to be able to reach out 60 yards consistently, but most of my set ups only have 30 to 35 yard shot possibilities, with the exception of when I hunt Illinois, which can have the potential for those longer 60 yard shot possibilities.

280 Man

Banned
I’m new to this so I have a question. With a lot of practice is 25 to 30 yards too far to make a clean kill?

Heck no! Today's crossbows are capable of a lot more but just like everything one must know their limitations with whatever they use!

I've been crossbow hunting for several years. I practice out to 50-60 yds but have never taken a shot past 40..

My advice would be go somewhere that sells crossbows that will also let you shoot them. Don't try to make a crossbow fit you, find the one that you fit! You will be happier and have a better experience.

Buy quality arrows as well and not those dollar, two ninety eight tomato sticks that are prevalent in crossbow arrows! You crossbow is only as good as your arrows.

Get in touch with Jerry at Tapp-nation.com. 813 545 0754 This guy builds some of the VERY BEST arrows you will ever use! I have used his arrows exclusively for 6-7 years.

Good luck!!

transfixer

Many of the entry level crossbows are capable of some pretty amazing accuracy, especially when used with quality bolts and a decent scope, at 30yds I have to shoot at different spots on the target, if I didn't I end up stacking the bolts and ruining them.

Jim Boyd

If you want to crossbow hunt, my advice is buy once and cry once.

Nothing worse than substandard equipment taking the joy out of anything.

Now that was not your question.

30 yards is easy as long as you can execute. 35 would be my high water mark unless the conditions were perfect.

I routinely practice to 60 but something about fur and antlers will flat unnerve some folks.