Kayak rack for truck edit to change plans.

Toliver

I am thinking about getting a fishing kayak. I've never done it before but want a way to get on the lakes around the state parks. I want the largest, most stable platform I can get so I'm looking at some in the 12 to 13 foot range. An Old Towne with pedals is top of my list so far.

So the question is what is the best rack for transporting it? I want to have all I need in place before buying the kayak.

I will be pulling a camper so it'll have to ride up and over the cab of the truck. I'm considering a basic light weight ladder rack but with the creative and ingenious things some of you come up with, I want to see suggestions before I buy a rack and then regret it. This will be for a 2017 F-350 SRW with an 8' bed.

Ruger#3

RAMBLIN ADMIN
Staff member
I am thinking about getting a fishing kayak. I've never done it before but want a way to get on the lakes around the state parks. I want the largest, most stable platform I can get so I'm looking at some in the 12 to 13 foot range. An Old Towne with pedals is top of my list so far.

So the question is what is the best rack for transporting it? I want to have all I need in place before buying the kayak.

I will be pulling a camper so it'll have to ride up and over the cab of the truck. I'm considering a basic light weight ladder rack but with the creative and ingenious things some of you come up with, I want to see suggestions before I buy a rack and then regret it. This will be for a 2017 F-350 SRW with an 8' bed.
I’ve never carried one on ladder rack but do own a 13 ft Ocean Kayak. You’ll want rollers or other device to ease getting the yak up over your head. Hoisting it up would get old real quick. There’s commercial swing loaders but they’re pricey. There used to be a guy on here fabricated a rack with a tilt that eased loading/unloading.

Toliver

Thank you, gentlemen.

Stainlessman