Laying the smackdown in Jasper County!

ditchdoc24

I've been battling hogs for the past several months. They started coming up into my mother in law's yard and rooting it up. Needless to say, she was less than pleased and begged me to do something about it. I borrowed a couple of traps and started running them with some success but they got trap shy really fast. I was getting trail cam pictures of hogs all around my traps but wouldn't set foot near the triggers. I finally ended up borrowing a rifle with a thermal scope and that has made a huge difference. I killed a decent sow a couple of weeks ago and the hogs disappeared. I knew they were still in the area because my neighbors were telling me they still had them so I knew they'd be back. I got a call last week as I was heading to work from one of my neighbors who was having problems with hogs tearing up his food plots. So we went out yesterday afternoon and relocated one of my hog traps to the area where he had a bunch of rooting. We also set up a ladder stand overlooking the plot. So I woke up about 0230 this morning, got dressed and eased out to the stand while scanning with the thermal. I spotted this big rascal in the plot so I eased up the ladder and got set up for the shot. One shot and he ran off. I sat in the stand for about an hour before climbing down. He ran about 50 yards into the woods and piled up. I'm guessing he's at least 250-300lbs and he's definitely the biggest hog I've killed so far. I've already got my thermal scope on order and working on getting the Form 4 finished for a suppressor. This is getting addicting.

Attachments

• 5E9F7B18-087E-4892-A7A3-B2299BAF070A.jpeg
    5E9F7B18-087E-4892-A7A3-B2299BAF070A.jpeg
    143.5 KB · Views: 106
  • 439A7BF3-B810-4132-848E-8E09BE3F3B22.jpeg
    439A7BF3-B810-4132-848E-8E09BE3F3B22.jpeg
    154.4 KB · Views: 106

CroMagnum