Let's See Those Deer Hunting Knives

Wifeshusband

Scan#1.jpg
All American Line-up: Left to Right
Schrade Uncle Henry (known as the "Golden Spike") 30+ years old. Schrade closed its doors in America after exactly 100 years in 2004 and was bought and moved to China. What you see today in Cabela's is the Chinese Golden Spike. Stainless was not added until after 1995. The Golden Spike was first made when I graduated from HS in 1973 and listed for $30 in their catalog. It has a 5" blade and stone in the sheath. A real workhorse.

MIddle: Bear & Sons skinner. This is a family owned company in Jacksonsville, AL. They make their knives from American material. It is stainless steel and holds a very sharp edge, what some folks call a "medical" or "surgery" edge. It has a 3 and 1/2 " blade.

Custom made antler handled knife with a 4 and 1/2 " blade I purchased from a gentleman at one of the old Atlanta Buck o' Rama's around the turn of the century. He was a very skilled artisan. (I wish I knew his name). I have field dressed many a deer with it; but it is retired, as I do not want to take a chance on losing it.

* Many years ago some writer in one of the hunting rags said you should use a drop point bladed knife for field dressing. I have never owned a drop pointed knife in my life. I prefer an upswept blade for everything, but you have to be careful when you unzip a deer with an upswept or "clip point" knife not to puncture things (like the bladder). There is a You-tube hunter showing folks how to field dress a deer and he proceeds to do just that.
Scan#2.jpg
If anyone has a George Herron made knife I would like to see it. George was a Georgia boy who moved to SC and made a national reputation as a custom knife maker. Blade named him the greatest custom knife maker of all time. When he was alive he sold his knives for $150 to $300. Now they go anywhere from $500 to over a $1,000. They are a beautiful combination of function and simplicity.

NWS

Nice knives!