Leupold Questions

catch22

That's kinda where I started. I was going to remove the rail and go with something lower. Then got to thinking about the 50 mm. But it sounds like the 50 mm isn't going to help me much.
Also, it seems there's not a ton of options for one-piece mounts like the Talley. Seems they would be more secure than a screwed on base/rail with a ring screwed onto it but I'm not an expert on it by any means.
if this hasnt been stated yet.....go with a one piece base (leupold) and quality rings (leupold).....you can have best scope money can buy but the rings and base are just as important

Robert28

I usually always go with Leupold but I haven’t been able to find a good deal on their scopes in awhile. That made me look at other brands and honestly right now the best deal going is the Meopta Optika 5. I bought a 3-15-44 for $360 otd recently. I looked at the VX freedom 4-12-40 but it was only $20 cheaper than the Meopta.

Last edited:

BriarPatch99

you are obviously much more well versed in this arena than me....but I have used nothing but 50s on my scopes for 25years. Leupold VX2 3x9x50. Ive hunted every which way you can hunt and out of all stand types. Ive never had any issue with high rings or "dragging a huge scope around".

Im not trying to say that a 40 is worse or that a 50 is better, but you make it seem like its an elephant on top of the gun......its only slightly larger than the 40 and has given me zero issues in all my hunting time.

I qualified my statement as opinion ...

You obviously have yours mounted better than many rifles I see ... many I see have that 1/2" gap like that in the above photo has ... that gap is a brush grabber ...

Mounted as low as possible without touching the barrel would keep the grabbing to a minimum even with the 50 mm ...

I have yet to see a 50mm mounted on a light weight hunting rifle that is as "slick" looking as a properly mounted 40mm ... and yes some look out of place just like a elephant would ...