MB550 Adjustments

Mike81

I have read the sticky above, but have a question. I am new to trapping and ordered a starter kit of mb550’s. I am only concerned with catching coyotes. Is the tension out of the box not good enough to catch coyotes? I guess I am concerned of messing up the trap. If you guys think its a must I will do what ever.

Doug B.

When I first bought my MB 550s I too had heard that they were ready right out of the box. So I did my trap prep and set them. Yes they will work right out of the box! I trapped with mine a whole season without any adjustments and caught several coyotes with all 12 of my new MB 550s.
If I do get new ones now I check them for pan tension, pan level, and general functioning. I make minor tweaks to them but to say it is absolutely necessary I can't.

They are great traps. I don't think you will be disappointed any.

Mike81

When I first bought my MB 550s I too had heard that they were ready right out of the box. So I did my trap prep and set them. Yes they will work right out of the box! I trapped with mine a whole season without any adjustments and caught several coyotes with all 12 of my new MB 550s.
If I do get new ones now I check them for pan tension, pan level, and general functioning. I make minor tweaks to them but to say it is absolutely necessary I can't.

They are great traps. I don't think you will be disappointed any.
I actually went back and looked at the ones I bought after seeing the sticky, the MB550RC two coil say 2,5-3 pan tension if I am reading that correctly.

Doug B.

I actually went back and looked at the ones I bought after seeing the sticky, the MB550RC two coil say 2,5-3 pan tension if I am reading that correctly.
Yes, and that's the pan tension I like to run for coyotes. You will still catch coons and possums and even skunks but you will get good full foot catches on coyotes.

Railroader

Billy’s Security Guard.