My Lone Wolf stand will be sitting out the rest of the season

Fork Horn

I’ve been hunting with a Lone Wolf sit and climb stand for many years and after trying numerous stands, I’ve found it to be the easiest to carry, quietest to climb with and I always thought myself securely attached to the tree.

I carried my Lone Wolf for the first time on Monday, and after a good hunt (seven deer seen including a nice five pointer on the Chattahoochee National Forest) I climbed down planning to give it another try soon. However, while packing up my stand I found multiple cracks in my traction belt (the one that holds the stand to the tree). Guess I missed seeing these when I attached it to the tree since it was dark. Let me say that I was happy to be standing on the ground when I saw these cracks; if I had seen them while up in the tree I would likely have been afraid to climb down with it.

There were lots of things I did wrong, including not inspecting my stand before I began using it this year and my failure to replace the straps several years ago as suggested by Lone Wolf (they recommend changing then every five years and I’ve had this stand much longer than that). I’m just thankful that nothing serious or life changing happened to drive home this lesson. I’ll have to do better.

So now the Lone Wolf stand is grounded and I’m hunting from my Summit stand hoping that Lone Wolf will someday offer the traction belts for sale again. 33C90529-F5DE-4464-9F45-E632FF08A8C5.jpeg

doenightmare

Gone But Not Forgotten
That could have turned out bad. Glad you made it down safely.

Here is thread I found seems a member there has a solution until the new belts come out go read toward the end and this will hopefully help

buckpasser

I’m fortunate to not need any right now, but will purchase a new set when they become available again.