New to Savannah - Show me the way

Stoker1

Good morning folks. I'm the FNG and happy to be here.

I'm pretty new to the Savannah/Richmond Hill area and have a J16 skiff, outboard, saltwater trolling motor and electronics. Really hoping someone might be willing to give me a few pointers on how to approach the fishing here. Coming from the Florida panhandle, I learned how to target Specks & Reds throughout the year on artificials and would love to focus on those again. At the same time, I don't have any problem refocusing and throwing for bass or panfish on ultralight gear.

Being in the RH area and with the little skiff, a 4-5 mile run from the ramp would be on the extreme, but doable to put me on some good spots.

I've only hit the launch at Ogeechee/17 once and ran down to the train tracks, beating the banks but no takers. Seems I need to go further towards Ft. McAllister and focus on the creek mouths? The tide swings here are much different than the two a day we had back on the Gulf side.

Appreciate ya' and willing to offer up a trip if you'd show me the way. The skiff might not be the most comfortable to ride in, but its got a lot of room. Enjoy meeting new folks and sharing the camaraderie of the sport.
Jr.

Last edited:

Doboy Dawg

The closer you get to the coast you could see some 6ft. Tide changes. That said, there are a bunch of small rivers and creeks within a hour drive of you. Good luck!

Stoker1

Thanks for the feedback. The rig has an outboard and sorry for the confusion as I meant to say its ready to go with a saltwater trolling motor, electronics etc.

Doboy Dawg

Thanks for the feedback. The rig has an outboard and sorry for the confusion as I meant to say its ready to go with a saltwater trolling motor, electronics etc.