Newbie with a question.

Cbyrnside

I'm new to hunting and am trying to gather a strong knowledge base on the ins and out of deer hunting and was curious about how blood tracking works. Is there any good literature, videos, or even advice from yall that could help me learn more about it. Is there a good way to tell what the direction of travel is when doing it? I mean I know in perfect world you get that shot that downs the deer right there and you aint gotta do no tracking but as new hunter I would like to know how to do it properly so if the time comes I can properly recover the animal.

kmckinnie

BOT KILLER MODERATOR
Staff member
I carry white tissue paper. I place at blood found. Not every time but about 20’ apart. If u lose blood u can always go back easy to the last spot.
Sometimes if u look at your trail of paper u can maybe tell which direction it’s trying to head.
Always after the shot try and listen for the crash or the kicking as it dies.
I’m sure more will give more advice.

Cbyrnside

Nice and sounds easy enough keep on ya too just carry around one those small travel size things of like kleenex that can fit in pocket?

kmckinnie

BOT KILLER MODERATOR
Staff member
Nice and sounds easy enough keep on ya too just carry around one those small travel size things of like kleenex that can fit in pocket?
I keep a roll of TP in the truck. I just roll off some and take it with me. I use it to wipe my scope Len. Glasses and every now and then. Mother Nature calls. It don’t take a big piece by blood. About 2” square will work.

Havana Dude