Question about flintlocks

Esau

I asked this question on another thread and realized I was being rude and high jacking someone else's thread. I apologize for that. Now to my question, I hunt with a traditional longbow, and a sidelock percussion muzzle loader. I am very interested in getting a flintlock. I have very little experience with them and would like to know a few things. Which ones I should look at and what I need to know to make a good decision?

GAHUNTER60

The simple (and unhelpful) answer is, "it depends!"

If you are simply after the increased challenge of hunting with sparking-rock rifle, then one of the higher-quality, Hawken-style flinters makes sense. By "higher quality," I mean a Lyman Great Plains flinter, or one of the several made by by Perdersoli. This also includes an older Hawken rifle made by Thompson Center. All these guns have serviceable and relatively dependable locks -- which is the reason I didn't include Traditions flintlock rifles on the list (nothing wrong with their percussion guns, but their flinters have had numerous problems.)

Now, if you want a gun representative of one that might have been used by Early American settlers, then you will want one of the semi-custom rifles, like Tennessee Valley Muzzleloaders, Kibler Longrifles, or a dozen other buidlers. (Please note that the Hawken-style rifles in flintlock are not historically accurate, as all of these rifles were originally built as percussion guns).

In fact, you can get one of the Poor Boy rifles from TVM, with a Chambers-Siler lock and Rice or Green Mountain barrel for the same price as a higher grade Pedersoli, and own a much, much, much better rifle.

These days, almost all are muzzleloaders are accurate. Dependability is the key, and with flinters, it's paramount!

Lonewalker