Questions for DNR

humdandy

Banned
I've been hunting Chattahoochee WMA for many years now and every year the gates are closed during bow season. I was told (and it may be incorrect info.) that the gates are opened up for rifle hunters and now bear doggers.

Why do they open up the gates for these hunters and not bow hunters? Do you think bow hunters are more athletic and capable of hiking in 10-12 miles a day to hunt? Do you think we are more physically fit and manly (and attractive)?:banana:

What is the estimated bear population on Chattahoochee?

Was the dog hunt intended to decimate the bear population in hopes the deer population will come back? (I was told this was the case.......and.......I was also told this dog hunt was all political)

Are they going to have this dog hunt next year?

Will they start moving the hunt from WMA to WMA when they complain for lack of bears on Chattahoochee?

BTW, I have dog hunted mountain lions, deer and hogs........I have nothing against dog hunters at all......just they way it was handled.

Thanks.....

jbogg

Answers:
1. Yes, the gates stay closed since if bow hunters were any tougher they would rust.
2. The bear population is 50 less than it was two weeks ago.
3. Yes, The dog hunt is on the schedule for next year
4. Not sure if this will continue on other WMA’s, but I would not be surprised.

Mr Bya Lungshot

BANNED LUNATIC FRINGE
Bow hunting gives less opportunity at success so I believe the gates are kept closed to give more undisturbed hunt opportunities and way less pressure by keeping all the vehicles off the roads.
Its a win win for me. Open the gates and too many acres are flooded with road riders.

humdandy

Banned
Bow hunting gives less opportunity at success so I believe the gates are kept closed to give more undisturbed hunt opportunities and way less pressure by keeping all the vehicles off the roads.
Its a win win for me. Open the gates and too many acres are flooded with road riders.