Redlands Gates Closed for Small Game February- Why?

Fletch_W

Banned
Does anyone know why the gates are closed on all the access roads, including the ranger station? Season is open through the month, but they don't want you driving on the roads I guess? Signs clearly say you are free to park and hunt, just can't drive down closer to where you might actually want to hunt. I'm a beginner, so if the answer is well-known or obvious, please go easy on me. I'd appreciate a basic explanation, if yall have one. Thanks in advance.

Fletch_W

Banned
There's two washouts up on the northern uppermost reaches of Redlands, but those have been closed for over a year. No new washouts I'm aware of. Also, at the check station, it was closed at the ranger station, even though the road was 100% fine all the way to the next gate at the end of the fields, and far beyond, based on my walk today.

Last edited:

NE GA Pappy

Mr. Pappy
when it rains as much as it has, they shut the roads to keep 4x4's out of there. If 100 Jeeps ran thru there everyday and it rained often, the roads would be impassable in a few weeks. It is to protect the road base they have established already

Fletch_W

Banned
Pappy, that makes sense, but the particular road I was on, by the station, it isn't dirt, it's gravel, so a jeep isn't going to tear it up like a clay dirt road. And why not at least open the gates on weekends? Don't have to leave them open 24-7. And as big as our state budget is, in the billions of dollars, if a gravel truck has to come by every once in a while to overseed some trouble spots, it should be a big deal. Again, I'm a beginner, so I'm just thinking out loud with an uninformed opinion.

jiminbogart

TCU Go Frawgs !
Fletch, fixing roads is more involved than just spreading some gravel. We got over 7.5" of rain around here in January and a bunch more so far in February(not to mention, almost 6" in December '19).
Closing the gates is the smart thing to do.