Season Summary and Wrap Up for Me

Waddams

I think my season is probably done unless I get lucky and find myself with an unexpectedly free day in December.

• I might be done deer hunting for this season. December is booked up with lots of holiday and family stuff. My wife is ready for some husband focused time as well.
  • I've managed to kill 3 deer this year. No mature trophy bucks. But I have a horizontal freezer stuffed to the top with venison. I'm primarily a meat hunter first, trying again for a big set of antlers might have to wait until next season now.
  • On the subject of big antlers, my area of the hunting club has one really big mature buck that I've got on camera in various locations, some in day time. I think I've got 3 different distinct bedding areas identified he bounces between. If I find a chance to go again, I will be working those areas.
  • I plan on some off season scouting and camera work as well to try to nail him down a little better.
  • It's my first year in this club, and as a still inexperienced hunter, I think I have figured out how the deer use probably half the club property. It's been fun.
  • Last deer I killed was a really big spike. Very long face. Another hunter I know thinks it was older than a year and a half and the antlers just weren't developing for some reason. Got so much meat off him it took two coolers to ice it all down. I didn't weight him in.
  • With my freezer totally full, no need to kill anymore unless it's the one big buck or I decide to give some away or figure out summer sausages and jerky with it.