shellcracker spawning in ponds & small lakes?

oldfella1962

Okay, a couple of ponds I fish have had bass on the spawning beds for well over a month. That makes sense, the water temperature has been up & down along with the actual temperature, so the bass spawning has been pretty stretched out where I fish. I'm not a shellcracker expert, but do shellcrackers (in any pond or small lake that has bass too) spawn after the bass spawn? In other words, do shellcrackers prefer a warmer spawning temperature than do bass? Do they use the same spawning areas with a sand bottom where it's available? Do they generally spawn in waters deeper than do bass?

Bluegills I caught last week were bursting with eggs. Will the shellcrackers be spawning soon or are they spawning now? Bear in mind I'm comparing apples-to-apples on any given pond I fish. What is the "order of march" concerning which species spawns first, second, etc?

klerchkatcher

Bluegills and Shellcrackers usually spawn after the bass. Years ago in an In-Fisherman magazine, it said 72 F water temp was prime to for bluegills to spawn. Now that is when they are "spawning". The bluegills can be caught pre-spawn in the areas close to were the will spawn. They like a sand bottom to make their beds.

oldfella1962

Bluegills and Shellcrackers usually spawn after the bass. Years ago in an In-Fisherman magazine, it said 72 F water temp was prime to for bluegills to spawn. Now that is when they are "spawning". The bluegills can be caught pre-spawn in the areas close to were the will spawn. They like a sand bottom to make their beds.

Thanks! That makes sense then that the bluegills are bursting with eggs since they will be spawning now as the bass are finishing up. Now I need to figure out if the shellcrackers (in the same body of water) will spawn shorty after that or what.

Batjack

Cap`n Jack 1313