stand spots for north Ga hunting

Okay, I just joined a club near the Hall county White county line. I'm new to this semi mountanous country hunting. I have always hunted in south Ga where it is flat. My question would be, Where should I hang my stand. We have lots of hardwoods, a nice size creek but lots of STEEP hills. I'm putting up some latter stands this weekend.
Thanks,
SS

BASSIN

creek bottom

If the creek you were talking about runs through a bottom with some hardwoods, that is an ideal spot. they love to hug those creek bottoms with the hardwoods. I have seen many many bucks running does in this setting. I love to these areas during the rut.

DS7418

Gone But Not Forgotten
Don't put them on top of a ridge.... these mountain
deer will pick you off when they only have a skyline behind you...
I always prefer to get about mid-way up the side of a ridge. Then i hope they don;t come in from high behind me.

gacowboy

GONetwork Member
Swamp Stomper find some good funnel areas where deer regularly cross a real thick area along the creek. Or a creek crossing heavily used. Set up where you can see down the creek as far as possible.
Preferribly close to some mature white oak trees.
Good food sources ect. GOOD LUCK!!

:flag: :flag: :flag:

Vernon Holt

Gone But Not Forgotten
North Ga. Hunting

Stomper: I can assure you that N. Ga. hunting is different in many ways.

A stand in the normal sense is useful when used at the very top of mountains, or at the very bottom of the slope. If you climb a tree on the slope of the mountain, you will see that a deer on the uphill side of you would be likely at the same level with you, looking you right in the eye.