Sweetgum

spencer12

I have been removing non desirable trees from my small farm for a few years now. I was curious if round up sprayed on a freshly cut sweet gum would kill it. It seems every year I’m recutting the same sweetgum stumps due to suckering. I have some high concentrate roundup but I wasn’t sure if it’ll work. I don’t want to really dabble with stronger chemicals if I don’t have to. Anyone tried this?

Crakajak

Daily Driveler News Team
Drill several holes in the stump and spray round up in them.I have also drilled and sprayed a foot or so out from the stump in a root. (Big trees).

Dave 48

Yes it will work perfectly

Personally I prefer to hack and squirt the gums standing. Wait a few weeks and then Bush hog or cut them down

I've tried the hack and squirt method in the late summer of this year, about August. I didn't see any results but I wasn't expecting any just yet. Hopefully, in the spring those trees will not come back.
Treeman, did you use glyphosate or something else?

Shrimpngrits

I’ve used the cut and squirt method in the winter, haven’t had many of them sprout back up.

That said, I talked to a man that covers the stump with salt. Sounds like a cheap and safer option, anybody tried it?

I have so many sweet gums of every size... for 6” and under I cut them off waist high and rip ‘em out with a stump puller; “Brush Grubber Extreme Plus”

Milkman

Deer Farmer Moderator
Staff member
I have some dicamba herbicide on hand that I use to control a violet infestation in my lawn. I have mixed a few ounces of it in with the normal 2% glyphosate in my 25 gallon sprayer. It kills sweetgum.

treemanjohn

Banned
I've tried the hack and squirt method in the late summer of this year, about August. I didn't see any results but I wasn't expecting any just yet. Hopefully, in the spring those trees will not come back.
Treeman, did you use glyphosate or something else?